Whatsapp, Facebook, Google hangout and others may be the in thing now, but Yahoo messenger is still used, it usage might not be what it was before, but it is still used nonetheless.
However if for someone reason you decide to deactivate or delete your Yahoo messenger permanently then this article is for you.
Before you delete or deactivate your account, check if there is another solution to the problem, the main reason why most people may want to tamper their messenger is that of unsolicited notifications, lots of unwanted notifications popping up here and there.
If that’s is your problem then you can actually do some thing, locate your privacy settings and choose who you want to send you messages and how it should be delivered.
If this doesn’t work out then move on to the next step, in order to delete your messenger you need to first delete that particular Yahoo account that’s linked to the Messenger application you want to delete permanently.
To this follow this simple steps
Like I said you need to delete entire account,
1. Visit Account Deletion page on Account Configure page
2. You’ll be asked to sign in if you’re not, or to verify your password for the account you wish to delete.
3. Do that and start the deletion process.
Please note that after the deletion process is initiated your account can never be recovered.
Also note, deleting your Yahoo account won’t uninstall the application software. After you delete your account, you’ll need to remove the App, to do that
Go to into Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs to delete the Yahoo Messenger program itself.
Make sure you save anything you want beforehand. Once the account is deleted, everything associated with will disappear as well such as contacts and important email.
If you delete your account you’ll lose a lot of things, should read every warning you see before you complete the process, below are just some things you’ll lose
- Yahoo answers
- Yahoo! Address Book
- * Yahoo! notepad
- Yahoo! Briefcase
- My Yahoo!
And any other area of Yahoo! that can only be accessed with your Yahoo!ID and password.
Deleting your account also deactivates your account, it can not be the other way around.