Using the GroupMe application to text our friends is good, especially if those friends don’t usually check their email inbox. It’s even easy to start a conversation with group of friends using GroupMe, the hard part is deleting those conversations.
With over 550 million messages being sent through this app, keeping track of conversations, and developing supporting structures to keep the app working must be a tough task for the Groupme management, this might be why the management are not doing anything to help users delete their messages and pictures.
Why we may need to delete our Groupme messages and photos
Too many things can make us want to reach for the delete button, we may find that we accidentally sent some inappropriate text messages, pictures or whatever to our Group, or we just decided that those messages we’ve been sending should disappear, we don’t want any one seeing them ever again. We want them to disappear just like the messages and pictures on Snapchat.
Here are some real reasons from some real people describing some situations where they’ll like to erase their messages and pictures.
“This makes no sense! We should be able to completely delete pictures. A picture was accidentally put on. Due to the sensitive nature of the picture it was placed in good faith, this image is about a birth announcement and a picture to a church group. Well the baby was laying on a particular part of the mother’s body and we didn’t know until she told us. So now we can’t take it off and she is very uncomfortable, It was an honest mistake but we cant’ take it down and men can see the picture. I don’t understand. Any other app or web based service allows for deleting”
” I sent a photo to my Group, this photo shouldn’t been seen by anyone else besides my group, now they’ve seen it I want to delete it to prevent others from picking their phones and seeing the picture.”
The above are just some things people are saying. What about Groupme? What are they saying? Here is their official reply to my query “Unfortunately there is no way to delete photos or messages on GroupMe. GroupMe works just like regular texting.
Once you hit Send, there is no way to edit or erase it. You can hide the message, which will temporarily hide it from your own device, (to un-hide simply log out and log back in) but it will still show up on everyone else’s devices. You also can clear the chat history, which will remove the messages from your phone permanently, but again, this will only remove the messages on your device. While we know there is a demand out there to delete photos, at the moment it’s not what we’re focusing on. We’re always open to hearing about ways to make your GroupMe experience better. Thanks for your feedback.”
This simply means that messages and pictures sent via GroupMe are on a one way traffic, once sent it’s sent, no going back, no deleting, forever at the mercy of your contact’s GroupMe app.
So how do I delete my GroupMe messages and pictures? How do I erase my conversations with others, not just hiding them but deleting them completely.
Two hard ways
1. Ask nicely
If you sent a message or media via GroupMe, then decides you longer want them to see it again, then ask nicely.
Send another message to the same group you sent those messages or pictures earlier, telling them to hide (this deletes it from their smartphone) the messages you sent so so and so time (give them a hint), you can decide to tell them the truth or lie to them, whatever you do just make sure what you’re telling them will actually move them to do as you want.
2. Leave them
Yes, leave them, I’m not talking about leaving GroupMe, it wouldn’t make sense as all your messages and pictures you sent is still with them.
What you’ll do is to leave that particular group, when you leave that group your messages and images leaves with you. To delete your conversations via the delete group method, just swipe all the way into the group’s right tray or tap the tiny group avatar in top right. Tap settings and come down.
You either leave the group or end the group if you are the creator. Ending the group is permanent it also deletes all the messages both from your end and from the end of your contact.
To rejoin the groups you have left on your own by going into Global settings and tapping Archive.
This are indeed hard but not impossible, do this two ways right and you’ll get what you want.
Update: Aside This there is this online app that automatically deletes this messages at least once per account, before you’ll be asked to upgrade Megadeleta beware that you’ll have to pass one or two surveys at most before you’ll use your free slot, otherwise you’ll have to upgrade first. If it is not working please tell me via comment box.